San Francisco Film Society awards $300,000 in grants

Ted Hope, Cheryl Dunye, Rachel Rosen helped select projects

The San Francisco Film Society and the Kenneth Rainin Foundation announced six projects that will receive funding for the Fall 2012 SFFS/Kenneth Rainin Foundation Filmmaking Grants totaling $300,000.

Winners include Ryan Coogler for “Fruitvale,” Destin Cretton and Asher Goldstein for “Short Term 12,” Mario de la Vega for “The Undeniable Charm of Sloppy Unruh,” Eric Escobar for “The East County,” Aurora Guerrero for “Los Valientes (The Brave Ones)” and Michael Tully and George Rush for “Ping Pong Summer.”

“Throughout the review process, we were impressed by the brave choices made by these artists both in terms of emotional engagement and subject matter,” the jury said in a statement.

Panelists included writer-director Cheryl Dunye, SFFS Exec Director Ted Hope, KRF Prexy Jennifer Rainin, SFFS Director of Programming Rachel Rosen and SFFS Director of Filmmaker 360 Michele Tumure-Salleo,

Grants are awarded twice annually, and nearly $2.5 million will be awarded between 2009 and 2013.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety