Jodie Foster to receive Cecil B. DeMille Award

Thesp is the youngest actor to earn honor since Charlton Heston in 1967

Jodie Foster will receive the Cecil B. DeMille Award at the 70th annual Golden Globes on Jan. 13 from the Hollywood Foreign Press Assn.

Foster, selected by the HFPA board of directors, will be honored for her impact on the world of entertainment and is the youngest to earn the honor since Charlton Heston in 1967.

As an actress, Foster has been nominated for seven Golden Globes (including last year’s “Carnage”) and won twice, for “The Accused” and “The Silence of the Lambs.”

Recent DeMille honorees are Morgan Freeman, Robert De Niro, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg. Simon Baker and Kristen Stewart announced the selection at a morning event Thursday at the Beverly Hilton.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety