BFI adds Burton, Bonham Carter to Fellowship roster

Org also announced juries for London fest

LONDON – Tim Burton and Helena Bonham Carter are set to receive Fellowships from the British Film Institute, it was announced Wednesday (Oct. 10), as the BFI also unveiled the juries for the new competitive sections of the BFI London Film Festival.

For the first time the festival will feature competitive awards sections. The best film award will be presented to the winner of the official competition, with a jury presided over by helmer/scripter David Hare. The jury includes Hong Kong producer Nansun Shi, Argentine helmer Pablo Trapero, producer Victoria Pearman and actress Romola Garai.

The Sutherland Award will be presented to the winner of the best first feature competish. Jury prexy is former Edinburgh Film Festival director Hannah McGill, with novelist Sebastian Faulks, “Harry Potter” helmer David Yates, producer Robin Gutch and actress Louise Brealey making up the jury.

The Grierson Award will be presented to the recipient of the best docu competish. Docu helmer Roger Graef will serve as prexy of the jury which includes filmmaker Morgan Matthews, journalist John Simpson, Emma Hindley, vice chairman of the Grierson Trust, and Charlotte Moore, head of docu commissioning at the BBC.

“Harry Potter” producer David Heyman will preside over the jury for the Best British Newcomer Award, which includes a £5,000 ($8,000) bursary given by Swarovski. The jury includes actors Tom Hiddleston and Olivia Colman, author Kazuo Ishiguro, and helmer Eran Creevy.

Burton and Bonham Carter will join the 68 previous recipients of the BFI’s highest honor. “It means more than I can put into words to receive the BFI Fellowship and to be included alongside the great directors who have received it before me,” said Burton. Past directors to receive the award include David Lean, Akira Kurosawa, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Krzyzstof Kieslowski, Michelangelo Antonioni, Orson Welles, Ridley Scott and Danny Boyle.

“I am somewhat bewildered and not sure i am deserving of such an honor as a Fellowship from the BFI, but I shall accept it with deep gratitude,” said Bonham Carter. Past actresses to receive the award include Elizabeth Taylor, Vanessa Redgrave, Maggie Smith, Deborah Kerr, Jeanne Moreau, Bette Davis, Maureen O’Hara, and last year’s recipients Isabelle Huppert and Judi Dench.

Burton’s “Frankenweenie” is this year’s LFF opening night film, while “Great Expectations,” featuring Bonham Carter, will close the festival which runs from Oct. 10 to Oct. 21. Both receive their European preems at the fest.

The LFF awards and the BFI Fellowships will be presented on Oct. 20.


Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety