'Modern Family,' 'Becoming Chaz' also honored

“Beginners,” “Modern Family” and “Becoming Chaz” each received honors Saturday at the Los Angeles edition of the 23rd annual GLAAD Media Awards.

Written and directed by Mike Mills, “Beginners” earned the kudo for outstanding film in wide release. “Modern Family” won for comedy series and “Becoming Chaz” for documentary at the event at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel.

Chaz Bono of “Becoming Chaz” also received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award award for work toward eliminating homophobia, while Josh Hutcherson (“The Hunger Games”) earned the Vanguard award for making a significant difference in promoting equal rights for LGBT people.

In addition, the award for individual TV series episode was shared by Lifetime’s “Drop Dead Diva” and TV Land’s “Hot in Cleveland.”

An initial set of GLAAD Media Awards were presented March 24 in New York, with the remainder coming June 2 in San Francisco.

List of winners:

Stephen F. Kolzak Award

Chaz Bono

Vanguard Award

Josh Hutcherson

Outstanding Film – Wide Release

“Beginners” (Focus Features)

Outstanding Documentary

“Becoming Chaz” (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)

Outstanding Comedy Series

“Modern Family” (ABC)

Outstanding Individual Episode: TIE

“Prom” Drop Dead Diva (Lifetime) and “Beards” Hot in Cleveland (TV Land)

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0