ASC names Student Heritage winners

Three students honored in grad, undergrad and doc categories

The American Society of Cinematographers revealed the three winners for this year’s ASC Andrew Laszlo Student Heritage Awards at the org’s Clubhouse in Hollywood on Saturday.

Nabbing the top graduate honor was Damian Horan of USC’s School of Cinematic Arts, for “Josephine and the Roach.”

Undergrad winner was H.R. McDonald of Art Center College of Design for “Aexis.”

Travis LaBella of Northwestern U. won in the docu category for “Language of the Unheard.”

Kudos aim to “showcase the artistic abilities of the next generation of filmmakers, with a focus on their cinematographic abilities.” The 40-plus candidates were recommended by film school professors who offered up one student per category, who were then judged by a panel of ASC members.

Prior to the awards ceremony, all the competing student films were screened at the Clubhouse.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety