From Austin to ‘Zero’

The Austin Film Critics Assn. named “Zero Dark Thirty” its top film of the year, but gave the most honors to “The Master.” Lead actor Joaquin Phoenix, director Paul Thomas Anderson and cinematographer Mihai Malaimare Jr. were named the best in their classes.

Jennifer Lawrence was top lead actress for “Silver Linings Playbook,” while Christoph Waltz (“Django Unchained”) and Anne Hathaway (“Les Miserables”) took supporting kudos.

Screenplay recognition went to Rian Johnson for “Looper” in original and Chris Terrio for “Argo” in adapted.

“Holy Motors” won in foreign film, “The Imposter” in documentary and “Wreck-It Ralph” in animation. In original score, Reinhold Heil, Johnny Klimek and Tom Tykwer (“Cloud Atlas”) prevailed.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety