TerrioWith the Florida Film Critics Circle weighing in, this blizzard of critics groups awards over the past 48 hours — a baker's dozen by my quick count — should be near abating for the time being.

The latest of the best and brightest is "Argo," which took top honors from the Sunshine Staters for picture, director Ben Affleck and screenplay adapter Chris Terrio. (There's Terrio to your right, with "Argo" co-star Kerry Bishe. Did he get Deney Terrio jokes as a kid?)

More familiar names dotted the landscape, with Daniel Day-Lewis, Jessica Chastain, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Anne Hathaway grabbing acting honors and the unyielding Rian Johnson of "Looper" taking original screenplay.

In cinematography, Florida also honored Roger Deakins ("Skyfall"), perhaps the No. 1 challenger to Claudio Miranda of "Life of Pi." The latter film won in visual efefcts, while "Anna Karenina" sailed in art direction/production design, thanks to a team featuring Thomas Brown and Sarah Greenwood.

In addition, "The Intouchables" proved victorious in foreign-language, "Frankenweenie" in animation and Oscar also-ran"The Queen Of Versailles" in documentary.

Photo: Eric Charbonneau/WireImage

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0