‘Beginners’ leads latest GLAAD honors

“Beginners,” “Modern Family” and “Becoming Chaz” each recieved honors Saturday at the Los Angeles edition of the 23rd annual GLAAD Media Awards.

Written and directed by Mike Mills, “Beginners” earned the kudo for outstanding film in wide release. “Modern Family” won for comedy series and “Becoming Chaz” for documentary at the event at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel.

Chaz Bono of “Becoming Chaz” also received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award award for work toward eliminating homophobia, while Josh Hutcherson (“The Hunger Games”) earned the Vanguard award for making a significant difference in promoting equal rights for LGBT people.

In addition, the award for individual TV series episode was shared by Lifetime’s “Drop Dead Diva” and TV Land’s “Hot in Cleveland.”

An initial set of GLAAD Media Awards were presented March 24 in New York, with the remainder coming June 2 in San Francisco.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety