FCC forms an Open Internet committee on net neutrality

Reps from Writers Guild, Netflix, Comcast, Disney to serve on advisory panel

The FCC is forming an Open Internet Advisory Committee, tasked with evaluating the commission’s Net neutrality rules, with reps from the Writers Guild of America West, Netflix, Comcast and the Walt Disney Co. among those on the panel.

The creation of the committee was included as part of the FCC’s open Internet rules, passed in 2010, that call for providers not to discriminate in the speed at which they deliver content to consumers, among other provisions.

The chairman of the committee will be Jonathan Zittrain, professor of law and computer science and co-founder of the Berman Center for Internet and Society at Harvard.

Among the members are Charles Slocum, assistant executive director of the WGAW; Neil Hunt, chief product officer of Netflix; Kevin McElearney, senior VP for network engineering at Comcast; and Elaine Paul, senior VP of strategic planning at Disney.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Digital News from Variety