TV archive to take a bow at WGA fete

Burkey Award goes to Archive of American Television

The Writers Guild of America East has selected the Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television to receive the guild’s Evelyn F. Burkey Award.

The kudo, aimed at recognizing efforts to bring honor and dignity to writers, will be presented to foundation exec director Norma Provencio Pichardo and archive director Karen L. Herman at the 63rd annual Writers Guild Awards ceremony on Feb. 5 at the AXA Equitable Center in New York City.

The archive collection has more than 600 in-depth video interviews. Its site makes available more than 2,000 hours of video interviews.

“The Archive of American Television is the collective memory of those who were present at the creation of the medium and the many giants who through the decades have brought to TV their creativity, skill and imagination,” said WGA East president Michael Winship. “High among them are the great writers of entertainment and news who have been essential to television’s success from the Golden Age right up to the present, and so we are pleased to present the archive with this year’s Burkey Award.”

Past recipients of the Burkey nod include Edward Albee, Walter Bernstein, Martin Scorsese, Colin Callender, Vaclav Havel, Sidney Lumet, Arthur Miller, Art Buchwald, Horton Foote and Andy Rooney.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety