You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Comedy confab celebrates Shandling

Just For Laughs Comedy Conference begins July 28

MONTREAL — Garry Shandling will receive the Just For Laughs Lifetime Achievement Award at the 4th annual Just For Laughs Comedy Conference, it was announced Tuesday.

Shandling will be on hand in Montreal to receive the honor. He first made his mark with the show ”It’s Garry Shandling’s Show” in 1986 and he went on to create ”The Larry Sanders Show” for HBO. He also appeared in ”Iron Man 2”.

Shandling is one of several showbiz personalities being honored at the Just For Laughs Comedy Conference. As previously announced, Louis CK will be taking home the Comedy Person of the Year Award, Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd will be nabbing the trophy as Comedy Writer of the Year, Paul Feig is to be given the award as Comedy Director of the Year, and Ken Jeong is to be named Breakout Comedy Star of the Year.

The awards will be doled out at a luncheon on Friday, July 29.

Others who have been added to the Comedy Conference line-up include ”Parks and Recreation” co-creator Michael Schur, ”30 Rock” co-head writer Robert Carlock, veepee of development and production at IFC Dan Pasternack, Fox co-head of comedy development Marcus Wiley, Comedy Central senior veepee Jim Sharp, CBC head of comedy programming Jenny Hacker, senior director of programming Eric Mortensen, Break Media production executive Danila Koverman, and general manager Oren Katzeff.

The Just For Laughs Comedy Conference runs July 28 to 30, as a sidebar to the Just For Laughs Comedy Festival, which is on now and continues until July 30.

More TV

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content