Recording Academy sets honorees

Allmans, Campbell, Jobim, Jones draw lifetime awards

The Recording Academy has announced its lifetime achievement, Trustees and technical awards honorees for 2012.

Recipients will be acknowledged at a private NARAS event during Grammy Week in February.

Next year’s recipients of lifetime achievement nods are Southern rock originators the Allman Brothers Band, country-pop singer-guitarist Glen Campbell, late Brazilian singer-songwriter Antonio Carlos Jobim, country vocalist George Jones, session stars the Memphis Horns (trumpeter Wayne Jackson and saxophonist Andrew Love), Supremes lead vocalist and Motown solo star Diana Ross and late singer-songwriter and rap progenitor Gil Scott-Heron.

Trustees Award recipients, acknowledged for their contributions in non-performance fields, are New Orleans producer, songwriter, arranger and bandleader Dave Bartholomew, late Apple co-founder Steve Jobs and recording engineer Rudy Van Gelder.

Technical Grammy recipients, cited by the Recording Academy’s Producers & Engineers Wing Advisory Council and chapter committees as well as NARAS trustees, are German audio firm Celemony and late engineer Roger Nichols.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Music News from Variety