Wolfe gets Abbott award

Legit director to be honored at October gala

George C. Wolfe will pick up this year’s Mr. Abbott Award, the lifetime achievement kudo handed out by the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation and the legit helmers’ union affiliated with the org.

Thesps whom Wolfe has directed in the past — including Elaine Stritch (“Elaine Stritch at Liberty”), Jeffrey Wright (“Angels in America”) and Ellen Barkin (“The Normal Heart”) — will appear as part of a tribute perf, penned by John Guare (“A Free Man of Color”) and helmed by Jack O’Brien. Composer Jeanine Tesori (“Caroline, or Change”) provides music direction.

Kudo has been given in prior years to Harold Prince, Susan Stroman and Michael Bennett, among others.

Wolfe will receive the laurel at a gala fund-raiser Oct. 3 at Gotham’s Edison Ballroom.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety