Scribes score Steinbergs

Playwright award comes with cash prize

Lisa D’Amour and Melissa James Gibson have scored the Steinberg Playwright Award.

Presenters of the kudo, nicknamed the Mimi and now in its fourth year, alternate between bestowing it upon a single high-profile playwright and handing out multiple honors to up-and-comers. Last year Lynn Nottage (“Ruined”) won the distinguished scribe prize.

D’Amour and Gibson each get a cash prize of $50,000.

D’Amour’s play “Detroit” was seen in a well-received Chicago production in 2010, and a team of commercial producers has announced they would bring the play to Broadway (although no ETA has been set). Her play “The Cataract” got a run a few seasons ago at the Women’s Project, and the scribe’s collaborative, site-specific work “How to Build a Forest” had a Gotham stint in June.

Gibson logged a 2009 hit with “This” at Playwrights Horizons. Others credits include “[sic],” “Suitcase, or Those That Resemble Flies From a Distance” and “Current Nobody.”

Selections were made by a team of legiters including Oskar Eustis, Todd London and Lynne Meadow.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety