'Crash' writer-director honored for adaptations

Multihyphenate Paul Haggis will receive the 2012 Scripter Literary Achievement Award, the Friends of the USC Libraries announced Wednesday. The “Crash” writer-director will accept the award at a Feb. 18 ceremony on the USC campus.

“I am deeply honored to be receiving this award,” Haggis said in a statement. “If I have a gift, a big part of it is in choosing great material to adapt, and being fortunate enough to collaborate with truly great filmmakers.”

USC Libraries Dean Catherine Quinlan and the Friends of the USC Libraries established the Scripter Literary Achievement Award in 2007 as an honor separate from the annual Scripter Award in order to recognize writers who have made a significant and lasting impact on cinematic adaptation. Previous winners include authors Michael Chabon and Dennis Lehane and screenwriters Steven Zaillian and Eric Roth.

For tickets or additional information about the 24thannual Scripter award ceremony, visit http://scripter.usc.edu.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0