‘Saw’ creative Bousman sells pitch

Scribe looks to stretch beyond horror genre

Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle.

Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the vein of “The Parallax View” and “The Firm” involving flash mobs.

Adamson and Warner bought the pitch from their development fund with Reel FX and also plan to produce.

Bousman told Variety that the spec is a chance for him to stretch beyond the horror genre and avoid being typecast for future projects.

Strange Weather exec Jeff Fierson, who will co-produce and oversee development, had met with Bousman before, making the decision to go with the shingle that much easier. Bousman actually put together a five-minute trailer and a booklet as part of his pitch.

“Partnering up on a movie, you need a certain connection — and he immediately got it,” Bousman said.

He will begin work on the script after finishing post on “11-11-11,” which he also wrote; that film is set to come out this November.

Reel FX and Strange Weather are currently finishing a Cirque du Soleil pic written and directed by Adamson.

Bousman is repped by Verve and Prolific.

More Film

  • European Parliament Rejects Key Proposed Digital

    European Parliament Rejects Key Proposed Digital Single Market Regulation

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Gaumont's Christmas Comedy Santa & Cie

    Gaumont's French Christmas Comedy 'Santa & Cie' Set for Massive Roll-Out in China

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Get Hard

    Writer Claims 'Get Hard' Ripped Off His 'Prison 101' Idea

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Charles Rivkin

    CineAsia: Charles Rivkin Looks to Asia as Locomotive for Theatrical Cinema

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Tax Plan Strikes Fear Among Below

    Hollywood's Below-the-Line Workers Anxious About New Tax Plans

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Detective Pikachu

    Film News Roundup: Live-Action 'Detective Pikachu' Gets 2019 Release

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Movie Chain AMC Exploring Investment in

    Movie Chain AMC Exploring Investment in Saudi Arabia

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content