You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Saw’ creative Bousman sells pitch

Scribe looks to stretch beyond horror genre

Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle.

Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the vein of “The Parallax View” and “The Firm” involving flash mobs.

Adamson and Warner bought the pitch from their development fund with Reel FX and also plan to produce.

Bousman told Variety that the spec is a chance for him to stretch beyond the horror genre and avoid being typecast for future projects.

Strange Weather exec Jeff Fierson, who will co-produce and oversee development, had met with Bousman before, making the decision to go with the shingle that much easier. Bousman actually put together a five-minute trailer and a booklet as part of his pitch.

“Partnering up on a movie, you need a certain connection — and he immediately got it,” Bousman said.

He will begin work on the script after finishing post on “11-11-11,” which he also wrote; that film is set to come out this November.

Reel FX and Strange Weather are currently finishing a Cirque du Soleil pic written and directed by Adamson.

Bousman is repped by Verve and Prolific.

More Film

  • 'Diane' Review: Mary Kay Place Is

    Tribeca Film Review: Mary Kay Place in 'Diane'

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Tom Hiddleston

    Stagecraft Special Edition: Tom Hiddleston Talks Shakespeare, 'Avengers'

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • avengers infinity war

    5 Characters Most Likely to Die in 'Avengers: Infinity War'

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Claire (BRYCE DALLAS HOWARD) and Franklin

    'Jurassic Word: Fallen Kingdom': Angry Dinosaurs on the Loose in CinemaCon Footage

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Guy Pearce Claes Bang Vicky Krieps

    Guy Pearce, Claes Bang, Vicky Krieps and Roland Moller Join Imperative's 'Lyrebird'

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

  • Bradley Cooper HBO ISIS

    Bradley Cooper Set for American Cinematheque Award

    Looking to step outside the horror genre, Darren Bousman, director and co-writer of “Saw 2” and helmer of “Saw 3” and “Saw 4,” has sold an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle. Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content