London Critics' Circle Film Awards to unspool Jan. 19

LONDON — Filmmaker Nicolas Roeg will be awarded the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film at the London Critics’ Circle Film Awards, which unspools Jan. 19.

Roeg, whose credits include “Performance,” “Don’t Look Now,” “The Witches” and “Walkabout,” will join the likes of Richard Attenborough, Judi Dench, Julie Walters and Quentin Tarantino, who have all be given the award in previous years.

The helmer has worked with a raft of talent throughout his career, including Mick Jagger, Anjelica Huston, Oliver Reed, David Bowie and Julie Christie.

Commenting on the award, Roeg said: “I’m sure the critics will understand when I say: On looking through and reading some of my old reviews, I’m torn between thanking you and forgiving you. But having slept on it, I’ll go with the positive and thank you…”

Nominations for the other awards will be announced on Dec. 20.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0