Writing award winner named in November

Four UCLA students and one from UC Santa Barbara have been named finalists for the 56th annual Samuel Goldwyn Writing Award, with Paul Mazursky, producer David Hoberman (“The Fighter”) and scribe Melanie Marnich tapped as judges.

Students in the U. of California school system are eligible for the Goldwyn kudo, which comes with a cash prize. Past winners includes Francis Ford Coppola, Allison Anders and Marnich (“Big Love,” “The Big C”).

On the roster of finalists are UCLA students Amy Aniobi (for script “Blame Candy”), Devin Fearn (“Wendigo”), Georgia Lin (“The Long Short Drop”) and Robin Morton (“Reckoning”) as well as UCSB student Cameron Lund (“Practice Makes Perfect”).

Cash prizes for the award include $15,000 for first place, $7,500 for second, $4,000 for third and honorable mention checks of $2,000 and $1,000. Winnners will be announced at UCLA Nov. 2.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0