Euro org taps Shooting Stars

Film Promotion names 10 young actors

European Film Promotion has named 10 young actors it expects to break into the international scene as its Shooting Stars for 2012.

Based on performances in films from their home country, the Shooting Stars are: Adele Haenel (France), Anna Maria Muhe (Germany), Antonia Campbell-Hughes (Ireland), Hilmar Guojonsson (Iceland), Isabella Ragonese (Italy), Jakub Gierszal (Poland), Ana Ularu (Romania), Bill Skarsgard (Sweden), Max Hubacher (Switzerland) and Riz Ahmed (the U.K.).

EFP will show off the up-and-comers at a showcase at the Berlin Film Festival in February. Program offers emerging thesps professional contacts to help their careers.

“We came away marvelling at the often brilliant way the nominated actors portrayed the feeling of a kind of modern loneliness, taking you on a journey in their search for identity no matter which part of Europe they came from,” said jury member Marleen Gorris.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety