Eight honored as Emerging Cinematographers

Awards to be presented Sept. 25

The International Cinematographers Guild is honoring eight industry members for their work behind the lens with Emerging Cinematographer Awards.

This year’s recipients include: Joseph Arena, camera operator, “Applebox”; Alison Kelly, assistant camera, “Spring of Sorrow”; David Mahlman, camera operator, “Numb”; Michael Nie, 2nd assistant camera, “Not Your Time”; Steve Romano, assistant camera, “String Theory/A.F. Vandervorst”; Stefan Tarzan, 1st assistant camera, “Absaroka”; Yueni Zander, assistant camera, “Dead Grass, Dry Roots”, and Gregory Wilson, digital imaging technician on an untitled project.

“These honorees represent the cinematographer superstars of tomorrow,” ICG prexy Steven Poster said.

In order to be eligible for an ECA, Cinematographers cannot already be directors of dhotography. Honorees were selected from over 70 short film submissions.

The Emerging Cinematographer Awards will be presented at the Directors Guild of America on September 25.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety