Governors Award to be bestowed at Feb. 13 ceremony

The maestros of light who make up the American Society of Cinematographers awards committee just added some wattage to its kudofest this month by naming Julia Roberts as the latest recipient of the Board of Governors award.

According to the org, the laurel is “given to individuals who have made extraordinary achievements to advancing the art and craft of filmmaking.” Past recipients have included Warren Beatty, Francis Ford Coppola, Sally Field, Morgan Freeman, Ron Howard, Sydney Pollack, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg.

“Cinematographers and actors have a special rapport that begins with a mutual trust,” said ASC awards committee chair Richard Crudo in a statement. “Julia brings something extra to that relationship and further elevates what we do with her beauty and grace. She’s a gift to every cinematographer she works with.”

Roberts will receive the honor at the 25th annual ASC Awards gala Feb. 13 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom. Lensers Roger Deakins and John Seale will receive career achievement awards at the ceremony, which hands out competitive feature film and television kudos.

“In an industry that accords the respect of legendary stardom very infrequently, Julia Roberts has demonstrated continuously — by the strength of her performances and the perfection of her craft — that she has earned this distinction many times over,” said ASC prexy Michael Goi in the announcement. “She represents the best of Hollywood to the world.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0