Cannes lines up this year’s pics

The complete festival list

“Midnight in Paris” (Spain-U.S.), Woody Allen (opener)
“The Beloved,” (France), Christophe Honore (closer)

“The Artist” (France), Michel Hazanavicius
“Drive” (U.S.), Nicolas Winding Refn
“Footnote” (Israel), Joseph Cedar
“Hanezu no tsuki” (Japan), Naomi Kawase
“Hara-kiri: Death of a Samurai” (Japan), Takashi Miike
“The Kid With a Bike” (Belgium-France-Italy), Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne
“L’apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)” (France) Bertrand Bonello
“Le Havre” (Finland-France-Germany), Aki Kaurismaki
“Melancholia” (Denmark-Sweden-France-Germany-Italy), Lars von Trier
“Michael” (Austria), Markus Schleinzer
“Once Upon a Time in Anatolia” (Turkey), Nuri Bilge Ceylan
“Pater” (France), Alain Cavalier
“Polisse” (France), Maiwenn
“The Skin I Live In” (Spain), Pedro Almodovar
“Sleeping Beauty” (Australia), Julia Leigh
“La Source des femmes” (France-Belgium-Italy), Radu Mihaileanu
“This Must Be the Place” (Italy-France-Ireland), Paolo Sorrentino
“The Tree of Life” (U.S.), Terrence Malick
“We Have a Pope” (Italy-France), Nanni Moretti
“We Need to Talk About Kevin” (U.K.-U.S.), Lynne Ramsay

“Arirang” (South Korea), Kim Ki-duk
“Bonsai” (Chile), Cristian Jimenez
“The Day He Arrives” (South Korea), Hong Sang-soo
“Elena” (Russia), Andrei Zvyagintsev (closer)
“L’exercice de l’Etat” (France), Pierre Schoeller
“Halt auf freier Strecke” (Germany), Andreas Dresen
“Hors Satan” (France), Bruno Dumont
“The Hunter” (France-Russia), Bakur Bakuradze
“Loverboy” (Romania-France-Serbia-Sweden), Catalin Mitulescu
“Martha Marcy May Marlene” (U.S.), Sean Durkin
“Miss Bala” (Mexico), Gerardo Naranjo
“Les Neiges du Kilimandjaro” (France), Robert Guediguian
“Oslo, August 31st” (Norway), Joachim Trier
“Restless” (U.S.), Gus Van Sant (opener)
Skoonheid” (South Africa-France-Germany), Oliver Hermanus
“Tatsumi” (Singapore), Eric Khoo
“Trabalhar cansa” (Brazil), Juliana Rojas, Marco Dutra
“Toomelah” (Australia), Ivan Sen
“Where Do We Go Now?” (France-Lebanon), Nadine Labaki
“The Yellow Sea” (South Korea), Na Hong-jin

“The Beaver” (U.S.), Jodie Foster
“The Conquest” (France), Xavier Durringer
“Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides” (U.S.), Rob Marshall

“Wu xia” (China), Peter Chan Ho-sun
“Days of Grace” (Mexico), Everardo Gout

SPECIAL SCREENINGS“Labrador” (Denmark), Frederikke Aspock
“Le Maitre des forges de l’enfer” (Cambodia-France), Rithy Panh
“Michel Petrucciani” (France-Germany-Italy), Michael Radford
“Tous au Larzac” (France), Christian Rouaud

“Apres le sud” (France), Jean-Jacques Jauffret
“Blue Bird” (Belgium), Gust Van den Berghe
“Breathing” (Austria), Karl Markovics
“Code Blue” (Netherlands-Denmark), Urszula Antoniak
“Corpo celeste” (Italy-Switzerland-France), Alice Rohrwacher
“End of Silence” (France-Austria), Roland Edzard
“La Fee” (Belgium-France), Dominique Abel, Fiona Gordon, Bruno Romy (opening film)
“Les Geants” (Belgium-France-Luxembourg), Bouli Lanners (closing film)
“Impardonnables” (France), Andre Techine
“The Island” (Bulgaria-Sweden), Kamen Kalev
“Iris in Bloom” (France), Valerie Mrejen
“Joan Captive” (France), Philippe Ramos
“Mushrooms” (India-France), Vimukthi Jayasundara
“O abismo prateado” (Brazil), Karim Ainouz
“The Other Side of Sleep” (Ireland-Hungary-Netherlands), Rebecca Daly
“Palawan Fate” (Philippines), Auraeus Solito
“Play” (Sweden-France-Denmark), Ruben Ostlund
“Porfirio” (Colombia-Spain-Uruguay-Argentina-France), Alejandro Landes
“Return” (U.S.), Liza Johnson
“Sur la planche” (Morocco-France-Germany), Leila Kilani
“Volcano” (Denmark-Iceland), Runar Runarsson

“At Night, They Dance” (Canada), Stephane Thibault, Isabelle Lavigne
“Guilty of Romance” (Japan), Sion Sono
“Des Jeunes gens modernes” (France-Belgium), Jerome de Missolz
“El Velador” (Mexico-U.S.-France), Natalia Almada

“Las Acacias” (Argentina), Pablo Giorgelli
“Ave” (Bulgaria-France), Konstantin Bojanov
“Sauna on Moon” (China), Zou Peng
“17 Filles” (France), Delphine Coulin, Muriel Coulin
“The Slut” (Israel), Hagar Ben Asher
Snowtown” (Australia), Justin Kurzel
“Take Shelter” (U.S.), Jeff Nichols

“La Guerre est declaree” (France), Valerie Donzelli (opening film)
“My Little Princess” (France), Eva Ionesco
“Pourquoi tu pleures?” (France), Katia Lewcowicz (closing film)
“Walk Away Renee” (U.S.-France-Belgium), Jonathan Caouette

Return to main page

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety