Lasseter to receive first Broccoli Britannia Award

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts Los Angeles is renaming its Britannia Award for Worldwide Contribution to Filmed Entertainment in honor of James Bond franchise producer Albert R. “Cubby” Broccoli.

The first Cubby Broccoli Britannia Award will be presented to John Lasseter at the BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards on Nov. 30 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

“Cubby Broccoli was the Britannia’s very first honoree when the awards were originated over 20 years ago,” said Nigel Lythgoe, chairman of BAFTA/LA. “By creating a global phenomenon with the longest-running film series in cinema history, Cubby’s legacy exemplifies what the Britannia Award for Worldwide Contribution stands for. We are grateful to Michael G. Wilson, Barbara Broccoli and the Broccoli Foundation for their generous support, and are delighted to present this award in Cubby’s honor.”

Broccoli and Harry Saltzman began the Bond pics in 1962 with “Dr. No.” Broccoli died in 1996.

Besides Lasseter, the 2011 honorees are Warren Beatty (Stanley Kubrick Britannia Award for Excellence in Film), Helena Bonham Carter (Britannia Award for British Artist of the Year), Ben Stiller (Charlie Chaplin Britannia Award for Excellence in Comedy), and David Yates (John Schlesinger Britannia Award for Excellence in Directing). Lasseter was named as the recipient of the BAFTA/LA award in June before it was re-named.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0