‘As If I Am Not There’ leads Irish awards

Miniseries 'Love/Hate' leads TV race with 10 noms

LONDON — Juanita Wilson’s Bosnian war drama “As If I Am Not There” leads the movie nominations for the 8th Irish Film and Television Awards, which will take place Feb. 12 at Dublin’s Convention Center.

Wilson, whose film is showing at the Palm Springs Film Festival after premiering at Toronto, was named last week at one of Variety’s 10 Directors to Watch.

“As If I Am Not There” nabbed six IFTA nominations, including best film, director, screenplay, cinematography, editing and international actress for its star Natasha Petrovic.

James Flynn’s Octagon Films, which produced “As If I Am Not There,” also made the miniseries “Love/Hate,” which leads the TV race with 10 nods.

Wilson’s pic is competing for best feature film against Ian Fitzgibbon’s “Perrier’s Bounty,” Tom Hall’s “Sensation,” Ian Power’s “The Runway” and Conor McDermottroe’s “Swansong: Story of Occi Byrne.”

The nominees for best international film include “A Prophet,” “Inception,” “The Social Network” and “Toy Story 3.” The candidates for best international actor are Leonardo DiCaprio for “Inception,” Jesse Eisenberg for “The Social Network,” Rahar Rahim for “A Prophet” and Russell Crowe for “The Next Three Days.”

The award for international actress pitches Petrovic against Annette Bening in “The Kids Are All Right,” Jennifer Lawrence in “Winter’s Bone” and Helena Bonham Carter in “The King’s Speech.”

Several big-name Irish stars are in the running for acting awards. Liam Neeson (“Chloe”), Cillian Murphy (“Perrier’s Bounty”) and Colm Meaney (“Parked) are competing for film actor, along with Martin McCann (“Swansong”).

Murphy is also nominated for supporting film actor in “Inception,” against Colin Farrell (“The Way Back”), Brendan Gleeson (“Perrier’s Bounty”) and Pierce Brosnan (“The Ghost Writer”).

Saoirse Ronan (“The Way Back”) vies with Kerry Condon (“The Runway”), Marcella Plunkett (“Swansong”) and Eileen Walsh (“Snap”) for the supporting film actress honor.

However, a shortage of candidates for best film actress means that category has been combined with best TV actress. Amy Huberman in the movie “Rewind” is nominated against four TV candidates — Ruth Bradley (“Love/Hate”), Orla Brady (“Mistresses”), Sarah Flood (“Fair City”) and Charlene McKenna (“RAW”).

Aine Moriarty, CEO of the Irish Film and Television Academy, commented, “In 2010, the Irish film and television industry has continued to produce a remarkable standard of work, despite difficult circumstances in the Irish economy.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety