Academy elects four newcomers to board

Governors also include seven incumbents, three returning

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has elected four first-timers to its Board of Governors, with seven incumbents being re-elected and three other motion picture officials returning to the board.

Richard P. Crudo, producer Gale Anne Hurd, composer David Newman and film editor Michael Tronick are the four first-timers. The re-elected individuals are Craig Barron from the visual effects branch; Annette Bening from actors; Don Hall from sound; Jeffrey Kurland from art directors; John Lasseter from short films and feature animation; Robert Rehme from executives; and Phil Robinson from writers.

The three who will return to the board are Michael Apted, documentary; Cheryl Boone Isaacs, public relations; and Paul Mazursky, directors. Apted previously served from 2002 to 2009. Isaacs served from 1988 to 1997 and again from 2000 to 2009. Mazursky was on the board from 1997 to 2000 and again from 2006 to 2009.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety