7 draw Nicholl fellowships

Past winners include Jason Micallef, Ehren Kruger


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has selected seven scribes for the 26th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, which comes along with a $30,000 prize.

The fellows are Chris Bessounian and Tianna Langham, Los Angeles, “Guns and Saris”; Dion Cook, Altus, Okla., “Cutter”; John MacInnes, Los Angeles, “Outside the Wire”; Matthew Murphy, Culver City, Calif., “Unicorn”; and Abel Vang & Burlee Vang, Fresno, Calif., “The Tiger’s Child.”

Winners, selected from a record 6,730 scripts submitted, will be presented with the first installments of their fellowship money at a gala dinner in Beverly Hills on Nov. 3. They receive the fellowships with the understanding that they’ll complete a feature-length screenplay during the year.

Past winners include Jason Micallef (“Butter”), Ehren Kruger (“Transformers: Dark of the Moon”) and Andrew W. Marlowe, who created and exec produces ABC’s “Castle.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety