Venice sidebar features McElwee, Tsukamoto films

The Venice Film Festival announced the lineup of its cutting-edge Horizons section on Wednesday, which will feature a rich mix of narrative pics and more experimental works, including world premieres from Jonathan Demme, James Franco, Ross McElwee and Japanese cult helmer Shinya Tsukamoto.

Venice artistic director Marco Mueller has opened up the section to works in different formats to attract more submissions from the broader visual arts world, while also breaking down barriers between features and documentaries.

Demme is coming with post-Katrina docu “I’m Carolyn Parker: The Good, the Mad and the Beautiful”; Franco with Sal Mineo biopic “Sal,” starring Val Lauren; and McElwee with “Photographic Memory.” Tsukamoto, a Lido aficionado, is coming with anime “Kotoko.” Italo helmer Pietro Marcello will bring docu “Il Silenzio di pelesjan.”

British visual artist Ben Rivers is bowing his first feature, “Two Years at Sea,” while Belgian artist Nicolas Provost is coming with “The Invader,” about an illegal African immigrant’s downward spiral, starring Italian Stefania Rocca.

As previously announced, U.S.-based Iranian helmer Amir Naderi’s homage to Yakuza movies, “Cut,” will be the opener. Chinese helmer Jia Zhangke, whose “Still Life” took the 2007 Golden Lion, will head the Horizons Jury.

The full lineup of the Venice fest, which runs Aug. 31 to Sept. 10, will be announced today.



“Cut,” Amir Naderi (Japan, opener)

“L’Oiseau,” Yves Caumon (France)

“Hail,” Amiel Courtin-Wilson (Australia)

“Nocturnos,” Edgardo Cozarinsky (Argentina)

“Amor Carne,” Pippo Delbono (Italy-Switzerland)

“I’m Carolyn Parker: the Good, the Mad, and the Beautiful,” Jonathan Demme (U.S.)

“Sal,”James Franco (U.S.)

“Whores’ Glory,” Michael Glawogger (Austria, Germany)

“Die Herde des Herrn,” Romuald Karmakar (Germany)

“Stateless Things,” Kim Kyungmook (South Korea)

“Swirl,” Helvecio Marins Jr., Clarissa Campolina (Brazil, Spain, Germany)

“Photographic Memory,” Ross McElwee (U.S.)

“The Invaders,” Nicolas Provost (Belgium)

“Shock Head Soul,” Simon Pummell (Netherlands, U.K.)

“Two Years at Sea,”Jake Williams (U.K.)

“Aim of the Blind Horse,” Gurvinder Singh (India)

“The Orator,” Tusi Tamasese (Samoa)

“His Neighbors,” Rirkrit Tiravanija (Thailand, Mexico)

“Verano,” Julieta Figueroa, Francisco Ossa (Chile)

“Kotoko,” Shinya Tsukamoto (Japan)

“Le Petit Poucet,” Marina de Van (France)

“Swan,” Teresa Villaverde (Portugal)

“The Sword Identity,” Xu Haofeng (China)

“Would You Have Sex With an Arab?” (France)


“The Last Generation of Portugal,” Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt (Portugal)

“The Son’s Incubator,” Hadinat al shams (Syria)

“Piattaforma Luna,” Yuri Ancarani (Italy)

“Accidentes Gloriosos,” Mauro Andrizzi, Marcus Lindeen (Sweden, Denmark)

“Hypercrisis,” Josef Dabernig (Austria)

“In attesa dell’avvento,” Felice D’Agostino, Arturo Lavorato (Italy)

“Snow Canon,” Mati Diop (France)

“Sonchidi,” Amit Dutta (India)

“Parabeton — Pier Luigi Nervi and Roman Concrete,” Heinz Emigholz (Germany)

“Movimenti di un tempo impossibile,” Flatform (Italy)

“Notes sur nos voyages en Russie 1989-1990,” Yervant Gianikian, Angela Ricci-Lucchi (Italy)

“Meteor,” Christoph Girardet, Mattias Mueller (Germany)

“Start,” Mattias Gustafsson (Sweden)

“663114,” Isamu Hirabayashi (Japan)

“Late and Deep,” Devin Horan (Norway)

“Louyre — This Our Still Life,” Andrew Kootting (U.K.)

“All the Lines Flow Out,” Charles Yi Yong Lim (Singapore)

“Passing Through the Night,” Wattanapume Laisuwanchai (Thailand)

“Black Mirror at the National Gallery,” Mark Lewis (Canada)

“Modern No. 2,” Mirai Mizue (Japan)

“Dialogical Abrasion,” Yves Netzhammer (Switzerland)

“Hollywood Talkies,” Oscar Perez, Marc Ribot (Spain)

“The Tracks of My Tears 2,” Axel Petersen (Sweden)

“Conference,” Norbert Pfaffenbichler (Austria)

“Moving Stories,” Nicolas Provost (Belgium)

“River Rites,” Ben Russel (U.S.)

“Miss Candace Hilligoss’ Flickering Halo,” Fabio Scacchioli, Vincenzo Core (Italy)


“The Annunciation,” Eija-liisa Ahtila (Finland)

“Il Silenzio di Pelesjan,” Pietro Marcello (Italy)

“Birmingham Ornament,” Andrey Silvestrov, Yuri Leiderman (Russia)

“Monkey Sandwich,” Wim Vandekeybus (Belgium)

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0