Writer’s Guild calls for video game writing award submissions

Award season in the video game industry is underway. Writer's guild

The Writer’s Guild of America has put out a call for submissions for its Video game writing award, which will be presented alongside similar nods for film and television writing Feb. 19. Submissions are being accepted through Dec. 1.

This will be the fifth year the Guild has recognized storytelling in video games. To be eligible, the title must have been released between Dec 1, 2010 and Nov. 30, 2011.

Previous WGA Videogame Writing Award winners include: Dead Head Fred (written by Dave Ellis and Adam Cogan) in 2008, Star Wars: The Force Unleashed (writers Haden Blackman, Shawn Pitman, John Stafford and Cameron Suey) in 2009, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (written by Amy Hennig) in 2010, and most recentlyAssassin’s Creed: Brotherhood (Story by Patrice Desilets, Jeffrey Yohalem, Corey May; Lead Script Writer:Jeffrey Yohalem; Script Writers: Ethan Petty, Nicholas Grimwood, Matt Turner) in 2011.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Digital News from Variety