One Show winners are all about brand

Creative for electronics, beverages win big

Electronics and beverage brands dominated the winners list at the third annual One Show Entertainment Awards on Wednesday night at the House of Blues in Hollywood.

Event is designed to recognize creative work presenting a branded message in an entertainment context — a growth area for content creation that goes beyond traditional product placement. Finalists compete for gold, silver and bronze Pencils in categories such as television, film, gaming, online branded entertainment, music, events and installations.

Sony Electronics’ “The Rocket Project,” created by agency 180 LA, garnered three kudos, winning a silver in the TV specials category, a bronze in online gaming and another bronze in online branded entertainment.

Other tech-oriented companies that won Pencils include Best Buy, Canon Australia, Intel, Microsoft Xbox, YouTube and Webroot.

Gatorade’s “Replay” series received a gold in TV specials and a silver in the documentary films category. Other awarded consumables included AB-Inbev, Bolthouse Farms, Gray Goose, PepsiCo, Stella Artois and Subway.

Gatorade agency TBWAChiatDay Los Angeles received the org’s Best in Show award.

“The One Club (recognizes) the work of the people and organizations whose work is re-inventing the way we engage with entertainment, advertising and branding,” said One Club CEO Mary Warlick.

Retail and apparel winners were Forever 21, K-Swiss, Levi Strauss and Target. Automotive victors included Audi, Toyota and Volvo.

Mitchum’s “Hardest Working Person in America” campaign — created by CAA in conjunction with Brett Ratner Brands — copped a gold for online branded entertainment campaign.

Other Pencil-winning brands included American Express, Blu Dot, DePaul UK, Holiday Inn, Scope and Wrigley.

Comedian Josh Wolf hosted the evening. Justine Bateman, Shira Lazar and others presented. Cirque Berzerk performed.

Chris Bruss (Funny or Die), Laura Caracciola (Electus), Charlie Corwin (Original Media), Jesse Coulter (CAA), Bill Davenport (Weiden+Kennedy), Geoffrey Destefano (Dumb Dumb), David Freeman (CAA), Mike Geiger (Goodby, Silverstein & Partners), Pelle Sjoenell (BBH) and Jimmy Smith (TBWAChiatDay) were among the judges.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Biz News from Variety