Canada writers also honor Cameron, Blinn

TORONTO — Michael Konyves’ screen adaptation of the Mordecai Richler novel “Barney’s Version” has landed the best movie prize at the 15th Writers Guild of Canada awards.

The WGC handed out seven regular and three special awards on Monday evening in Toronto.

Tassie Cameron (“Flashpoint,” “Rookie Blue”) received the guild’s showrunner prize, honoring exceptional creative leadership and vision, while Denise Blinn’s “1936” won the Jim Burt prize honoring the best unproduced screenplay by an emerging talent.

Toronto lawyer Peter Grant took home the WGC Writers Block award, recognizing his efforts to increase support for quality Canadian drama.

And the winners are:


Karen Moonah: “The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That” (episode)

Children & Youth

Barbara Haynes: “The Latest Buzz” (episode)


Christine Nielsen: “The Pig Farm”

TV Comedy

Chris Sheasgreen: “Less Than Kind” (episode)

TV Drama

Mark Ellis & Stephanie Morgenstern: “Flashpoint” (episode)

Movies & Miniseries

Michael Konyves: “Barney’s Version”

Shorts & Web Series

Lisa Hunter: “You Are So Undead”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0