Tom Freston, Diahann Carroll, Cloris Leachman among 2011 inductees

Former Viacom topper Tom Freston, thesps Diahann Carroll and Cloris Leachman and scribe Susan Harris are among this year’s inductees into the TV Academy Hall of Fame.

Composer Earle Hagen, longtime ABC News anchor Peter Jennings and gameshow maven Bill Todman will be posthumous additions.

The 20th annual Hall of Fame ceremony will be held Jan. 20 at the Beverly Hills Hotel. The seven selections for 2011 will join more than 100 smallscreen notables who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since it was founded in 1984.

WME’s Mark Itkin headed the selection committee comprising Fox alternative prexy Mike Darnell, NBC Universal’s Bonnie Hammer, Warner Bros. TV prexy Peter Roth, composer Ray Colcord and industry vet Fred Silverman.

“This year’s honorees are an outstanding group of creative individuals who have all made a significant impact and sparked amazing changes in the television industry,” Itkin said. “They are rightfully deserving of this honor.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0