Showrunners to be paired with stars at the Creative Arts Emmys

Showrunners will get the celeb treatment at the Aug. 21 Creative Arts Emmy Awards.

Presenters for this year’s Creative Arts kudos — the precursor to the following week’s primetime Emmycast — will feature some of TV’s top showrunners, including Ryan Murphy (“Glee”), Damon Lindelof (“Lost”), Clyde Phillips (“Dexter”), Matthew Weiner (“Mad Men”) and Steve Levitan (“Modern Family”).

But the star wattage won’t be diminished: The showrunners will be paired with talent from their series. Murphy will be joined on stage by Jane Lynch, for example, while Christina Hendricks will share the podium with Weiner; Elizabeth Mitchell will stand next to Lindelof; John Lithgow will join Phillips; and Rico Rodriguez will stand with Levitan.

Also confirmed: “Saturday Night Live” head writer and “Weekend Update” anchor Seth Meyers will be paired with Andy Samberg.

The presenters will also be assigned categories in which their shows earned a nomination.

More on the Creative Arts Awards — including who’s producing, and who scored the Syd Cassyd Founder’s Award — here.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More TV News from Variety