Alice Cooper Band, Neil Diamond to join music pantheon

Alice Cooper, Neil Diamond, Dr. John, Darlene Love and Tom Waits will join musical pantheon at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame next year.

The Cleveland hall and museum announced its 2011 inductees Wednesday.

Pianist Leon Russell is being inducted for his sideman activities, while execs Jac Holzman, founder of the cornerstone folk and rock label Elektra Records, and Art Rupe, head of the independent L.A.-based R&B imprint Specialty Records, will be feted in the non-performer slot.

The Rock Hall is bringing a diverse crew on board in its 26th year of ceremonies: pioneer shock-rocker Cooper, pop singer-songwriter Diamond, New Orleans singer-pianist John, Crystals lead vocalist Love and avant-boho solo artist Waits.

As usual, oversights will gall some. While eligibility requirements — artists can be inducted 25 years after their recording debut — would permit admission of more acts from the disco and early rap eras, those genres were dismissed in the balloting this year.

Chic, the Beastie Boys, LL Cool J and Donna Summer were among nominees passed over by voters.

Inductees will be honored at a March 14 dinner at Gotham’s Waldorf-Astoria.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0