ASCAP to fete music journos

'Michael Feinstein's American Songbook' among winners

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers has announced the recipients of its Deems Taylor kudo for outstanding music coverage.

Org will fete the winning broadcasters and journos at a ceremony on Dec. 9 at the ASCAP Gallery in Gotham.

Awards are given for radio, television, tune-centric books, articles and liner notes.

Winners include Ann Powers’ articles on Lady Gaga and Prince in the L.A. Times to Ashley Kahn’s liner notes to “Shaft” by Isaac Hayes.

Among other winners are PBS show “Michael Feinstein’s American Songbook,” produced and directed by Amber Edwards for Hudson West Prods., which will receive the TV broadcast kudo.

A complete list of winners is available at

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Music News from Variety