Label to release Hendrix collection

Sony Music teams with Experience Hendrix for repertoire

In the first fresh release under its pact with Sony Music’s Legacy division, Experience Hendrix will issue a collection of previously unreleased music by Jimi Hendrix, “Valleys of Neptune,” on March 9.

Package collates the innovative guitarist’s studio work in New York and London from 1969, comprising final sessions by the original Jimi Hendrix Experience lineup (with bassist Noel Redding and drummer Mitch Mitchell) and the musician’s first sessions employing bassist Billy Cox.

The 12-track compilation disc will include the title cut, which will be released as a single day-and-date with the album. Other newly unearthed cuts are the Hendrix originals “Ships Passing Through the Night” and “Lullaby for the Summer” and studio covers of Cream’s “Sunshine of Your Love” and Elmore James’ “Bleeding Heart.”

CD/DVD editions of the Hendrix catalog albums “Are You Experienced?,” “Axis: Bold as Love,” “Electric Ladyland” and “First Rays of the New Rising Sun” will also drop March 9. Also forthcoming are a re-release of the compilation “Smash Hits” and DVD and Blu-ray versions of “Live at Woodstock.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Music News from Variety