Jonathan Larson Grants handed out

Up-and-coming tuner writers Peter Lerman, Daniel Mate, Michael Kooman and Christopher Dimond have snagged the 2010 Jonathan Larson Grants, named after the late creator of “Rent.”

Producer Robyn Goodman (“Avenue Q,” “In the Heights”), composer Tom Kitt (“Next to Normal”), helmer-choreographer Kathleen Marshall (“The Pajama Game”) and composer-lyricist Stephen Schwartz (“Wicked”) selected the year’s recipients of the grants, which together total $10,000.

One grant went to composer-lyricist Lerman, one to composer-lyricist-librettist Mate (“The Trouble With Doug”) and a third to the team of composer Kooman and lyricist-book writer Dimond (“Golden Gate”).

The year’s recipients of the grant, administered by the American Theater Wing, will be feted at a March 9 ceremony in Gotham.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0