Steinberg selects Playwright Award recipient

Lynn Nottage to be honored by the Trust

The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Memorial Trust has selected Lynn Nottage for its 2010 Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award.

The Steinberg kudo comes with $200,000 cash. Nottage won the Pulitzer Prize for drama last year for her play “Ruined.”

The award, which also includes a David Rockwell-designed statue, will be presented to Nottage Nov. 8 in a ceremony at Lincoln Center’s Vivian Beaumont Theater. Previous winners of the ‘Mimi’ include Tony Kushner, David Adjmi, Tarell Alvin McCraney and Bruce Norris. The award is presented to a single, prominent playwright in even-numbered years and a group of younger writers in odd-numbered years. The award will be presented on Nov. 8.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety