Annual awards to be handed out in November

Helmer Anna D. Shapiro, writer-director Michael John Garces and scribe A. Rey Pamatmat are among the names legiters will recognize among the up-and-coming creatives to score a 2010 Princess Grace Award.

Majority of awards go to support emerging artists in theater, dance, choreography and film. Shapiro, who won a Tony for her direction of “August: Osage County,” picks up the Statue Award (with a $25,000 cash prize), given to a prior Princess Grace recipient who has continued to produce distinguished work.

Pamatmat snagged a playwriting fellowship with New Dramatists, while Garces was one of the winners of the special projects awards given to support past winners’ new work.

Theater scholarships and fellowships fund recipients’ work at companies including, this year, the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and the Arden Theater Company as well as Yale School of Drama and Arizona State U. The 2010 film recipients will use the coin to support studies at schools including USC and Stanford U.

Past recipients of the Princess Grace kudo include Tony Kushner and “SpongeBob SquarePants” creator Stephen Hillenberg.

Awards, administered by the Princess Grace Foundation-USA, will be handed out at a Nov. 10 gala in Gotham.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0