'Sondheim,' 'La Cage' also winners

Broadway play “Red” picked up a pair of Drama League Awards — which is actually something of a feat, given the league’s loosely structured nominations list that tapped, for example, nine play nominees and more than 50 performer candidates for the single thesping honor.

John Logan-penned play about painter Mark Rothko, “Red” scored in the top play category while Alfred Molina, who stars as Rothko, took the performer award.

“Red” also did well with the Tony nominations earlier this month, racking up seven nods, the most of any new play on the list.

But for the new tuner award, the league went in a direction different from any potential Tony outcome. The trophy went to “Sondheim on Sondheim,” a revue of the composer’s work that didn’t make the Tony cut in the new musical category.

Musical revival laurel went to “La Cage aux Folles,” another strong Tony contender with 11 noms, while play revival went to “A View From the Bridge.”

Awards were handed out at an annual lunchtime ceremony, held Friday and co-hosted this year by Vanessa Williams, who appears in “Sondheim,” and her “Ugly Betty” co-star Michael Urie.

Also doled out were previously announced non-competitive awards, including a musical theater achievement honor for Nathan Lane, a directing laurel for Kenny Leon and a unique contribution nod for Macy’s Parade and Entertainment Group.


Distinguished Performance Award — Alfred Molina, “Red”

Distinguished Production of a Musical — “Sondheim on Sondheim”

Distinguished Production of a Play — “Red”

Distinguished Revival of a Musical — “La Cage aux Folles”

Distinguished Revival of a Play — “A View from the Bridge”

Also, the following non-competitive awards were presented today, aspreviously announced:

Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award — Nathan Lane

Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing — Kenny Leon

Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award — Macy’s Parade and EntertainmentGroup

Co-Hosted by Vanessa Williams and Michael Urie, the 76th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon was held on Friday, May 21, 2010 in the Broadway Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel. For a complete list of nominees, visit http://www.DramaLeague.org

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0