Tuners rack up nine nominations each

With Tony nomination coming today, Monday’s Drama Desk nominations have, as many such lists do, stirred up as much talk about who was overlooked as who actually got the nod.

Recently opened Broadway play “Enron,” for instance, continues to have a difficult time impressing American kudo committees. Although it proved a hit in London, the show, which divided U.S. critics, got only a single Drama Desk nom for sound design (Adam Cork).

And in a year that has seen many of the season’s big-name actors score recognition beyond the box office, the Drama Desk noms left out heavy hitters, including Denzel Washington (“Fences”), Hugh Jackman and Daniel Craig (both of “A Steady Rain”) and Sean Hayes and Kristin Chenoweth (from “Promises, Promises”). Nominators did, however, tap celebs including Jude Law (“Hamlet”), Christopher Walken (“A Behanding in Spokane”), Catherine Zeta-Jones (“A Little Night Music”) and Scarlett Johansson (“A View from the Bridge”).

In general, the Drama Desks don’t serve as much of a bellwether for the season’s Tony nominations (announced this morning), particularly since both Broadway and Off Broadway offerings vie in the same categories for Drama Desks, whereas only Main Stem productions are eligible for Tonys.

The Broadway revival of “Ragtime,” which had a brief, disappointing run earlier in the season, topped the list of nominations with nine, along with Off Broadway musical “The Scottsboro Boys,” the Kander and Ebb tuner that preemed at the Vineyard this spring and is likely to land on Broadway next season.

In the top tuner race, “Scottsboro” is up against Broadway’s “The Addams Family” (eight noms), “Memphis” (seven), “Everyday Rapture” (five) and “American Idiot” (three), along with Off Broadway’s “Yank!” (seven).

The play category includes Main Stem offerings “Red” (seven nominations) and “Next Fall” (two) along with Off Broadway’s “Circle Mirror Transformation” (two), “My Wonderful Day” (two), “Happy Now?” and “Clybourne Park” (one apiece).

Acting ensemble awards will go to the casts of “Circle Mirror Transformation” and “The Temperamentals.” Special awards will be doled out to the cast, creative team and producers of Horton Foote marathon “The Orphans’ Home Cycle” (which has gotten a lot of award attention this season), composer Jerry Herman, Godlight Theater Company and Ma-Yi Theater Company.

Winners will be announced in a Gotham ceremony set for May 23.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0