Palm Springs Film Festival to honor pair

Ben Affleck, Danny Boyle draw awards

The Palm Springs Film Festival has tapped Ben Affleck to receive its chairman’s award and Danny Boyle to draw the Sonny Bono Visionary Award.

Kudos will be presented at the fest’s awards gala on Jan. 8 at the Palm Springs Convention Center.

Festival chairman Harold Matzner dubbed Afflect “a renaissance man in today’s cinema,” citing his work as an actor, writer and director in “The Town.” Affleck also stars in indie feature “The Company Men” and made his directorial debut in 2007 with “Gone Baby Gone.”

Matzner cited Boyle’s direction of “127 Hours” as emblematic of the helmer’s work. “Danny Boyle believes that doing something different, that jolts audiences out of their comfort zones, defines the essence of a filmmaker,” he added.

Past recipients of the Chairman’s Award include Dustin Hoffman and Nicole Kidman. Past recipients of the Sonny Bono Visionary Award include Quentin Tarantino, Baz Luhrmann, M. Night Shyamalan, Gus Van Sant and Joe Wright.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety