Lynch latches on to Loeb’s ‘Visibility’

MPCA sets helmer, start date for supernatural thriller

Jennifer Lynch is set to direct scribe Allan Loeb’s supernatural thriller “Visibility” for Motion Picture Corp. of America.

MPCA is eyeing a February start.

Loeb is in theaters with 20th Century Fox’s “Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps,” and penned Ron Howard’s upcoming Vince Vaughn topliner “The Dilemma.” Last week, Columbia announced it has set Loeb to adapt Neil Strauss’ nonfiction tome “Emergency!: This Book Will Save Your Life” as a potential starring vehicle for Robert Downey Jr.

Lynch, the daughter of David Lynch, recently co-wrote and directed thriller “Surveillance.” Previous credits include “Boxing Helena.”

A supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Primal Fear,” “Visibility” centers around a detective whose search for the identity of a trauma-induced amnesia victim reveals a mysterious connection between the two men.

“Loeb’s ‘Visibility’ snuck up on me like a stranger at a party — a safe place, a new face — Mama warned me about scripts like this,” Lynch said.

MPCA’s Brad Jenkel, Reuben Liber, and Brad Krevoy will produce with John Fogel, who is also producing Loeb’s “The Only Living Boy in New York” and “Protection” at 20th Century Fox. MPCA is developing a remake of Japanese pic “Departures” and is in pre-production on “Rogue Scholars” at Universal. Recent projects include HBO’s “Taking Chance,” starring Kevin Bacon.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety

Loading