MPCA sets helmer, start date for supernatural thriller

Jennifer Lynch is set to direct scribe Allan Loeb’s supernatural thriller “Visibility” for Motion Picture Corp. of America.

MPCA is eyeing a February start.

Loeb is in theaters with 20th Century Fox’s “Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps,” and penned Ron Howard’s upcoming Vince Vaughn topliner “The Dilemma.” Last week, Columbia announced it has set Loeb to adapt Neil Strauss’ nonfiction tome “Emergency!: This Book Will Save Your Life” as a potential starring vehicle for Robert Downey Jr.

Lynch, the daughter of David Lynch, recently co-wrote and directed thriller “Surveillance.” Previous credits include “Boxing Helena.”

A supernatural thriller in the vein of “The Sixth Sense” and “Primal Fear,” “Visibility” centers around a detective whose search for the identity of a trauma-induced amnesia victim reveals a mysterious connection between the two men.

“Loeb’s ‘Visibility’ snuck up on me like a stranger at a party — a safe place, a new face — Mama warned me about scripts like this,” Lynch said.

MPCA’s Brad Jenkel, Reuben Liber, and Brad Krevoy will produce with John Fogel, who is also producing Loeb’s “The Only Living Boy in New York” and “Protection” at 20th Century Fox. MPCA is developing a remake of Japanese pic “Departures” and is in pre-production on “Rogue Scholars” at Universal. Recent projects include HBO’s “Taking Chance,” starring Kevin Bacon.

Filed Under:

Want Entertainment News First? Sign up for Variety Alerts and Newsletters!
Post A Comment 0