You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Layover’ prepares to take flight

Endgame Entertainment picks up script in buying spree

Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.”

Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.”

Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is forced to confront the demons of his deadly past.

Basil Iwanyk (“Clash of the Titans”) is in negotiations to produce via his Thunder Road banner. Kent Kubena will shepherd for Thunder Road.

Although the spec market is limping along, Endgame been on something of a buying spree lately, acquiring a handful of scripts in the last month alone, including the Ellen Page starrer “Freeheld.”

Dean’s project “Kin” is being produced by Madhouse Entertainment and Mutual Film Co., with 2929 Films financing. Stefan Ruzowitzky (“The Counterfeiters”) is attached to direct.

Until recently, Dean taught screenwriting and film production.

More Film

  • Cannes: European Film Promotion Unveils 2018

    Cannes: European Film Promotion Unveils 2018 Producers on the Move

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • 'Avengers: Infinity War' Clip: Doctor Strange,

    'Avengers: Infinity War' Clip: Doctor Strange and Bruce Banner Explain Thanos to Tony Stark

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • To-Dust-Matthew-Broderick

    Tribeca Film Review: 'To Dust'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • avengers infinity war

    'Avengers: Infinity War' First Reactions: 'Marvel Puts It All on the Table'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • ‘Deadpool 2’ Tops Studios’ TV Ad

    ‘Deadpool 2’ Tops Studios’ TV Ad Spending

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Claire Foy'The Girl in the Spiders

    Claire Foy Previews Intense 'Girl in the Spider's Web' at CinemaCon

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Anthony Mackie, Gina Rodriguez, Ismael Cruz

    'Miss Bala,' Animated Spider-Man Show Sony's Commitment to Diverse Heroes

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content