You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Layover’ prepares to take flight

Endgame Entertainment picks up script in buying spree

Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.”

Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.”

Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is forced to confront the demons of his deadly past.

Basil Iwanyk (“Clash of the Titans”) is in negotiations to produce via his Thunder Road banner. Kent Kubena will shepherd for Thunder Road.

Although the spec market is limping along, Endgame been on something of a buying spree lately, acquiring a handful of scripts in the last month alone, including the Ellen Page starrer “Freeheld.”

Dean’s project “Kin” is being produced by Madhouse Entertainment and Mutual Film Co., with 2929 Films financing. Stefan Ruzowitzky (“The Counterfeiters”) is attached to direct.

Until recently, Dean taught screenwriting and film production.

More Film

  • Julia Roberts, Lucas Hedges to Star

    Julia Roberts, Lucas Hedges to Star in Drama 'Ben Is Back'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Phantom Thread Daniel-Day-Lewis

    Watch the Stunning Trailer for Daniel Day-Lewis' Final Film, 'Phantom Thread'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Judith Light

    Judith Light, Roberta Colindrez to Star in Drama 'Ms. White Light' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Negative Space animated short by Max

    Award-Winning Animated Short 'Negative Space' Makes Online Debut

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Paddington 2

    'Paddington 2' Producers Seek to Exit Distribution Deal With Weinstein Company

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Ashley Judd

    Ashley Judd Sets First TV Interview After Harvey Weinstein Allegation

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • 'Suburbicon' film premiere

    George Clooney 'Glad' Academy Took Action Against Weinstein: 'It's Long Overdue'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content