Endgame lands ‘Layover’

Film unit nabs action-thriller spec script

Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.”

Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.”

Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is forced to confront the demons of his deadly past.

Basil Iwanyk (“Clash of the Titans”) is in negotiations to produce via his Thunder Road banner.

Although the spec market is limping along, Endgame been on something of a buying spree lately, acquiring a handful of scripts in the last month alone, including the Ellen Page starrer “Freeheld.”

Dean’s project “Kin” is being produced by Madhouse Entertainment and Mutual Film Co., with 2929 Films financing. Stefan Ruzowitzky (“The Counterfeiters”) is attached to direct.

Until recently, Dean taught screenwriting and digital film production at the Riverdale Country School in the Bronx.

He is repped by UTA and Madhouse.

More Film

  • 'The Guilty' Review: Lives On The

    Sundance Film Review: 'The Guilty'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Steve Bersch Clint Culpepper

    Screen Gems Shake-Up: Clint Culpepper Steps Down, Steve Bersch Takes Over (EXCLUSIVE)

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Hearts Beat Loud Sundance

    Sundance: Sony Pictures Worldwide Nabs Foreign Rights to 'Hearts Beat Loud'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • American Animals

    Sundance 2018: Films, Stars & Cultural Moments Gain Early Buzz on Twitter

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Human Affairs

    Slamdance Kicks Off, Prepares to Debut Its Russo Brothers Fellowship

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • PGA Honorees 2018

    PGA Honorees Sound Off on Risk, Reward and Storytelling

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Valerian Movie

    French Cinema Box Office Overseas Rebounds in 2017

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content