You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Endgame lands ‘Layover’

Film unit nabs action-thriller spec script

Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.”

Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.”

Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is forced to confront the demons of his deadly past.

Basil Iwanyk (“Clash of the Titans”) is in negotiations to produce via his Thunder Road banner.

Although the spec market is limping along, Endgame been on something of a buying spree lately, acquiring a handful of scripts in the last month alone, including the Ellen Page starrer “Freeheld.”

Dean’s project “Kin” is being produced by Madhouse Entertainment and Mutual Film Co., with 2929 Films financing. Stefan Ruzowitzky (“The Counterfeiters”) is attached to direct.

Until recently, Dean taught screenwriting and digital film production at the Riverdale Country School in the Bronx.

He is repped by UTA and Madhouse.

More Film

  • Wong Kar-wai

    Wong Kar-wai Honored in Lyon, Talks Early Influences, Bruce Lee, Hong Kong Handover and Bigger Canvas for ‘Grandmaster’

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • 'Same Kind of Different as Me'

    Film Review: 'Same Kind of Different as Me'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Busan: Korea’s 'After My Death,' Iran’s

    Busan: Korea’s 'After My Death,' Iran’s 'Blockage' Win Competition

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Progression Image 3 of 3: Final

    Film Review: Pixar's 'Coco'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Oliver Sacks Documentary

    Film News Roundup: Paul Allen's Vulcan Productions Backs Oliver Sacks Documentary

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • The Disaster Artist

    AFI Fest Adds Galas for 'Call Me by Your Name,' 'Disaster Artist,' 'Hostiles'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Harvey Weinstein

    Colony Capital Has Three-Week Window to Avert Weinstein Co. Bankruptcy (EXCLUSIVE)

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content