Bohrer, Lamassoure re-upped at EUFCN

Martinez joins Euro film commish board

Location Austria’s Arie Bohrer and Film France’s Patrick Lamassoure have been re-upped as prexy and board of directors’ general secretary of the European Film Commissions Network.

Elsa Martinez, prexy of the Spain Film Commission and director general of Valencia’s Ciudad de la Luz mega studios, has joined the board for the first time.

Giuliana Tessera, at the Turin-Piemonte Film Commission, was also re-elected to the board.

Bohrer, Lamassoure and Tessera’s second term of office, which runs for four years, is a vote of confidence in the first steps taken by a pioneering initiative to establish and enhance collaboration between commissions across Europe.

Launched 2007, EUFCN membership has soared to 79 members from 23 countries.

A first-phase value has been to compare and contrast best practices, Lamassoure told Daily Variety.

“Some countries are very far ahead in co-operation with national regional tourism agencies, others in tax rebates, so we learn from each other,” he said.

At its yearly general assembly, which took place Dec. 4 in Brussels, the EUFCN organized its first specialist-led training sessions, on movie tourism and stereoscopic 3D filmmaking and corporate interests.

A non-profit org, whose board members work for free, EUFCN’s agenda includes shared stand presence at festivals and marts, indepth studies, such as of shooting costs across Europe, and further training.

Its immediate challenge, however, is to raise money to fund these initiatives, Lamassoure said.

The EUFCN will be meeting with European officials and potential sponsors to attempt to hike its financing.

EUFCN is not hostile to worldwide org, the Association of Film Commissioners Intl. (AFCI), Lamassoure insisted.

“We have a vast continent with many things in common, which other countries in the world don’t necessarily have, such as co-productions or a different relationship with Hollywood from, say, Canada and Mexico.”

“I do my job better if I know what’s going on in the Czech Republic,” he added.

The EUFCN’s other three board of directors members — treasurer Truls Konty from the Norwegian Film Commission, Film Commission Bavaria’s Anja Metzger and Hamburg Film Commission’s Christiane Scholz — face re-election in two years’ time.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety