‘Avatar,’ ‘Locker,’ ‘Sherlock’ top ADG awards

Art Directors Guild honors trio with feature prizes

The Art Directors Guild has tapped “Avatar,” “The Hurt Locker” and “Sherlock Holmes” as winners of its top feature awards.

The guild announced the honors Saturday night at the Beverly Hilton.

“Avatar” production designers Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg won the fantasy category. Karl Juliusson took the contemporary film award for “The Hurt Locker.” Sarah Greenwood won the period film trophy for “Sherlock Holmes.”

“Avatar” and “Sherlock” have received Oscar nominations for art direction, along with “The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus,” “Nine” and “The Young Victoria.”

TV awards went to Dan Bishop for “Mad Men” in One-Hour Single Camera series; Joseph P. Lucky for “Weeds” in Half-Hour Single Camera series; John Janavs for “Hell’s Kitchen” in Multi-Camera series; Brian Stonestreet and Steve Bass for “The 51st Grammy Awards” in Awards, Music or Game Show; and Kalina Ivanov for “Grey Gardens” in Movie or Miniseries.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety