Alfred P. Sloan winners announced

Film Independent honors Deller, Fairweather

Film Independent, the nonprofit behind the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, announced Tuesday that writer-director Jenny Deller and producer Kristin Fairweather will receive the org’s 2010 inaugural Alfred P. Sloan grant.

The duo earned the honor for their project “Future Weather,” one of 10 films to come out of Film Independent’s Fast Track program, a three-day film financing market that connects filmmakers with industry professionals who can guide their projects forward. Fast Track, free to chosen participants, has also announced the 10 selected projects for 2010’s session.

Upon completion, filmmakers become Film Independent fellows and receive continued creative support from the org. Other Fast Track alums include Courtney Hunt’s “Frozen River” and Cherien Dabis’ “Amreeka.”

Details on this year’s Fast Track participants can be found at

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety