AFI awards Kaminski

Org honors cinematographer

AFI awarded cinematographer Janusz Kaminski last night with the Franklin J. Schaffner Alumni Medal.

The award was presented during last evening’s tribute to Mike Nichols in Culver City. The medal is reserved for alumni of the AFI Conservatory, which Kaminski attended from 1987 to 1988.

Kaminski is best known for his work with Stephen Spielberg, which started with “Schindler’s List” in 1993 and continues still today. Kaminski has won two Oscars for his work on “Schindler’s List” and “Saving Private Ryan.” Kaminski’s other recent credits include “Funny People” and “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly,” for which he was Oscar nominated.

Previous winners of the award include David Lynch, Terrence Malick and Darren Aronofsky.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety