Laurels go to Mulligan, Arnold, Goldman among others

LONDON — Carey Mulligan, helmer Andrea Arnold and scribe Jane Goldman are among industryites being honored at the 20th Women in Film and Television Awards in London on Friday.

Mulligan, who is unable to attend the ceremony due to scheduling conflicts, will receive Pinewood Studios’ best performance laurel for her perfs in “An Education” and “Never Let Me Go,” while Arnold will receive the Ascent 142 director award.

Goldman will be presented with the U.K. Film Council writing award. Among othr films, she penned “Kick Ass,” “Stardust” and the upcoming “X-Men: First Class” and “The Woman in Black.”

Thesp Sheila Hancock will be awarded the EON Prod.’s lifetime achievement award for her contribution to film and TV. Hancock’s credits include pic “The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas” and a host of TV programs including “The Rag Trade” and “Doctor Who.”

The event, at the Park Lane Hilton, is hosted by Julie Walters and honors the achievements of women in the creative arts and entertainment industry.

Others who will be lauded at the event are producer Nira Park (“Scott Pilgrim vs. the World”); Lisbeth Savill, head of film and television at Olswang; and Hartswood Films’ Beryl, Debbie and Sue Vertue, the driving forces behind “Men Behaving Badly” and “Sherlock Holmes.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0