Duo to receive Norman Lear Achievement Award

The Producers Guild of America has tapped the producing team of Tom Hanks and Gary Goetzman to receive its Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television.

Duo will be presented with the kudo at the 22nd annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on Jan. 22 at the Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

“Tom and Gary are extraordinarily talented producers who have changed the television landscape with extremely unique, award-winning programming,” said Paula Wagner, chair of ceremonies. “They consistently deliver intelligent, thoughtful entertainment that has made a tremendous worldwide impact on the industry; we look forward to honoring their remarkable achievements.”

This year’s recipient was Mark Burnett. Previous recipients include Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, John Wells, Lorne Michaels, Bud Yorkin, Carsey-Werner-Mandabach, David L. Wolper, Don Hewitt, Garry K. Marshall, Aaron Spelling, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley and Lear.

Hanks and Goetzman formed Playtone Prods. in 1998. Banner’s TV credits include “Band of Brothers,” “John Adams,” “The Pacific,” “Big Love” and “The 25th Anniversary Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Concert.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0